Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.

Areas of learning and development

There are 7 areas of learning and development which guide professionals' engagement with your child's activities and play as they develop, demonstrate understanding and learn new skills and knowledge.

In a child's first 24 months the focus is mainly on developing the 3 prime areas first, these are:

•    Communication & Language
•    Physical Development
•    Personal, Social & Emotional Development

The prime areas are fundamental in your child's healthy development and are the foundations for their future progress. As your child grows the prime areas will support children to develop skills in the 4 specific areas which are:

•    Literacy
•    Mathematics
•    Understanding the World
•    Expressive Arts and Design

The EYFS is simular to a curriculum used in schools, however it is suitable for young children and babies. The areas of development are used in teaching and supporting children and are used in planning activities that will meet your child's individual needs and interests.

Within their early years foundation stage children learn through playing and exploring, active learning and creating and thinking critically.

Cookie Policy

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.

Do you accept?